I was handed my first camera back in 1978 to photograph a baseball game for my H.S. newspaper. A brand new Canon AE-1. It was the coolest thing I had ever seen,chrome,lots of buttons,the sound of the shutter..yes I was hooked.

Vanguard Havana 38 VEO 265CB carbon fiber tripod and Fuji Xt-1
Vanguard Havana 38 VEO 265CB carbon fiber tripod and Fuji Xt-1

That was my junior year and I continued on through my senior year and on to the local small town newspaper.
I remember the late nights in the darkroom eagerly processing and printing the TRI-X and watching the magic develop before my eyes. I would rush the still wet prints to the papers editor/owner and chief dishwasher for layout to go into print for that weeks paper. He would look up at me with a grin and say..”another great image Tom, good work”,yes I new I was hooked for sure.
Well then came sports,music,cars…the camera faded away.
I moved on to the 9-5 life all the while missing that beautiful sound the shutter made and the magic it produced.
35 years later I find myself pushing that familiar shutter button with the same beautiful sound and seeing the magic that little black box produces,(yes its digital and its still magic).
Today I get to go on these wonderful adventures helping others on their path of seeing and experiencing the magic that little black box produces,and getting to say to them “good eye keep up the good work”.
Yes I’m still hooked and it only took 35 years to go in that circle.
Thanx for reading
Tom

Leave a Reply

